Macomb Area Conference History
as of January, 2016

The Macomb Athletic Conference was formed in 1986, and began competition in September 1987. The seventeen charter member schools included ten from the Macomb Athletic Conference, seven from the Bi-county League. The league was renamed the Macomb Area Conference being that schools were from Macomb, St. Clair and Wayne counties.

MAC: Chippewa Valley, Cousino, Eisenhower, Ford II, Fraser, Romeo, Sterling Heights., Stevenson, Utica, Warren Woods. Tower
Bi-county: Clintondale, Grosse Pointe North, Lake Shore, Lakeview, L'Anse Creuse, South Lake*,  Roseville Brablec**
*South Lake later left to join the MOAC
 **Brablec was closed and merged with Roseville H.S. in 1989.

In 1988 the remaining schools in the EML joined the Mac.
Anchor Bay, East Detroit, Grosse Pte. S., L'Anse Creuse N., Mt. Clemens, Port Huron, Port. Huron Northern.

In 1992, Warren H.S. and Mott H.S. merged into Warren Mott and joined the MAC.

In 1995, six schools from the former St. Clair Area League joined the MAC.
Algonac, Imlay City, Marine City, Marysville, Richmond, St. Clair

In 1996, four schools from the former MOAC joined the MAC.
Center Line, Fitzgerald, Van Dyke Lincoln, South Lake

In 1999, Imlay City and Richmond left the MAC to join the Southern Thumb League.
In 2002, Algonac left the MAC to join the Blue Water League

In 2003, Madison and Lamphere, from the OAA, and New Haven, from the Southern Thumb, joined the MAC.

In 2008, Clawson from the Metro Conference, joined the MAC

In 2016, Mt. Clemens left the MAC

Following is a list of the current MAC schools, organized under their previous league affiliation.
Macomb Athletic Conf
Bi-County League
East. Mich League
St. Clair Area League
Mac-Oakl Conf
Oakland Activ. Assoc.
Thumb Assoc.
Chippewa Valley Clintondale Anchor Bay Marine City Center Line Lamphere New Haven
Cousino Grosse Pte. North East Detroit Marysville Fitzgerald Madison  
Dakota* Lake Shore Grosse Pte. South St. Clair Lincoln  Clawson  
Eisenhower Lakeview L'Anse Cr. North   Warren Mott    
FordII L'Anse Creuse Mt. Clemens        
Fraser South Lake Portt  Huron        
Romeo   Port Huron Northern        
Sterling Heights   Roseville        
WW Tower            

*Dakota was formed in 1993, and began competition in 1995.